Somerset County Council

County Council


55 elected members

To access agendas and papers dated after 1st January 2017 please click here

Agendas, reports and minutes prior to 2017

Main Purpose

The full County Council has four scheduled public meetings each year. Its main purpose is to agree a budget and policy framework within which the Leader of Council and his Cabinet operate and council services are provided.


Below are some of the specific functions of the County Council - a full list and further details can be found in Somerset County Council's Constitution.

  • Determining the policy framework for the Council
  • Approval of the Council's budget and Council Tax requirement
  • Appointing the Leader of Council and Committees/Sub-Committees of the Council and appointing members with special responsibilities
  • Approving the Council's Constitution and meetings calendar
  • The appointment of the Chief Executive
  • A range of other functions, which by law, cannot be the responsibility of the Executive, e.g. regulatory

For enquiries about County Council services contact Somerset Direct 0300 123 2224

For enquiries about Council meetings

Lead Officers:Julian Gale, Monitoring Officer, Community Governance Group
Honor Clarke, Strategic Manager, Legal Services
Administrative support:Michael Bryant, Senior Community Governance Officer
Community Governance
County Hall
01823 359048 or 357628

Please note - County Council Meetings are held in the Council Chamber, Shire Hall. The Council Chamber has a maximum capacity of 100 people, and this cannot be exceeded. There are approximately 20 - 25 public seating spaces. If numbers attending exceed capacity then priority will be given to those who have registered to speak at Public Question Time and thereafter admittance will be on a first come, first served basis.

Meeting dates

26/04/2017 at 10:00
24/05/2017 at 10:00
19/07/2017 at 10:00
29/11/2017 at 10:00
21/02/2018 at 10:00
28/02/2018 at 10:00
16/05/2018 at 10:00

Our members

Name Role Party
ADKINS, Michael Conservative
BAILEY, John Opposition Group Spokesman - Highways & Transport Liberal Democrat
BOWN, Ann Conservative
BROWN, Richard Conservative
BURRIDGE-CLAYTON, Peter Conservative
COLES, Simon Opp. Grp. - Business, Inward Investment & Policy Liberal Democrat
CRABB, Samuel Opposition Group Spokesman - Resources Liberal Democrat
DAVIES, Hugh Labour and Independent Group
DENBEE, John Conservative
DIMMICK, Alan Group Leader UK Independence Party
DYKE, John Liberal Democrat
DYKE, John Opposition Group Spokesman - Children & Families Liberal Democrat
EDNEY, John Conservative
FOTHERGILL, David Conservative
FYSH, Marcus Conservative
GLOAK MBE, Alan Liberal Democrat
GREENE, David Independent Member
GROSKOP, Anna Conservative
HALL, David Deputy Leader of Council Conservative
HAM, Philip Conservative
HEALEY MBE, Mark Conservative
HENLEY, Ross Deputy Opp. Leader & HR/Health/Transformation Lead Liberal Democrat
HILL, Dawn Conservative
HORSFALL, Alvin Liberal Democrat
HUNT, James Conservative
HUXTABLE, David Conservative
LAWRENCE, Christine Chairman Conservative
LE HARDY, Christopher Conservative
LEWIS, Michael Conservative
LOCK, Anthony Liberal Democrat
LOCK, Jane Opposition Leader Liberal Democrat
LOVERIDGE, David Labour and Independent Group
NAPPER, Terry Conservative
NICHOLSON, Frances Conservative
NOEL, Graham Vice-Chairman Conservative
OSMAN, John Leader of Council Conservative
PARHAM, John Conservative
PEARSON, Nigel UK Independence Party
PRIOR-SANKEY, Hazel Opposition Group Spokesman - Children & Families Liberal Democrat
REDMAN, Leigh Deputy Group Leader Labour and Independent Group
RIGBY, Mike Group Leader Labour and Independent Group
RUDDLE, Dean Conservative
SHORTLAND OBE, Jill Opposition Group Spokesman - Corporate Improvement Liberal Democrat
SIGGS, Harvey Conservative
TANSWELL, Derek Independent Member
VENNER, Terry UK Independence Party
VIJEH, Linda Conservative
WALLACE, William Conservative
WEDDERKOPP, Daniel Liberal Democrat
WEDDERKOPP, Alan Opp. Grp. Spokesman - Customers & Communities Liberal Democrat
WOODMAN, John Conservative
WOOLLCOMBE-ADAMS, Nigel Conservative
YEOMANS, Derek Conservative

To view the Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and, where they have chosen to have them published on the website, the Personal Interests of the members of this Committee, please click here