Somerset County Council

Somerset County Councillors


Political composition of the Council:
Conservative: 31
Independent Group: 3
Independent Member: 1
Labour: 3
Liberal Democrat: 14

View list by Division

Councillor Political Party Division
ADKINS, Michael Conservative Taunton North
BAILEY, John Liberal Democrat Martock
BOWN, Ann Conservative Bridgwater West
BROWN, Richard Conservative North Petherton
BURRIDGE-CLAYTON, Peter Conservative Burnham on Sea North
CLAYTON, Justine Liberal Democrat Bishops Hull & Taunton West
COLES, Simon Liberal Democrat Taunton East
CRABB, Samuel Liberal Democrat Brympton
DAVIES, Hugh Independent Watchet & Stogursey
DENBEE, John Conservative Brent
DIMMICK, Alan UK Independence Party Yeovil Central
DYKE, John Liberal Democrat Crewkerne
EDNEY, John Conservative Cannington
FOTHERGILL, David Conservative Monkton & North Curry
FYSH, Marcus Conservative Coker
GLOAK MBE, Alan Liberal Democrat Glastonbury & Street (A)
GOVIER, Andrew Labour Wellington
GREENE, David Independent Member Yeovil South
GROSKOP, Anna Conservative Wincanton & Bruton
HALL, David Conservative Bridgwater East & Bawdrip
HAM, Philip Conservative Mendip Central & East
HEALEY, Mark Conservative Huntspill
HENLEY, Ross Liberal Democrat Blackdown & Neroche
HILL, Dawn Conservative Cheddar
HORSFALL, Alvin Liberal Democrat Frome East
HUNT, James Conservative Upper Tone
HUXTABLE, David Conservative King Alfred
LAWRENCE, Christine Conservative Dunster
LE HARDY, Christopher Conservative South Petherton and Islemoor
LEWIS, Michael Conservative Castle Cary
LOCK, Jane Liberal Democrat Yeovil West
LOCK, Anthony Liberal Democrat Yeovil East
LOVERIDGE, David Labour Bridgwater North & Central
NAPPER, Terry Conservative Glastonbury & Street (B)
NICHOLSON, Frances Conservative Dulverton & Exmoor
NOEL, Graham Conservative Mendip West
OLIVER, Linda Conservative Frome North
OSMAN, John Conservative Wells
PARHAM, John Conservative Shepton Mallet
PEARSON, Nigel Independent Chard North
PRIOR-SANKEY, Hazel Liberal Democrat Taunton South
REDMAN, Leigh Labour Bridgwater South
RIGBY, Mike Independent Lydeard
RUDDLE, Dean Conservative Somerton
SHORTLAND OBE, Jill Liberal Democrat Chard South
SIGGS, Harvey Conservative Mendip Hills
TANSWELL, Derek UK Independence Party Frome West
VENNER, Terry UK Independence Party Minehead
VIJEH, Linda Conservative Ilminster
WALLACE, William Conservative Blackmoor Vale
WEDDERKOPP, Alan Liberal Democrat Comeytrowe & Trull
WEDDERKOPP, Daniel Liberal Democrat Rowbarton & Staplegrove
WOODMAN, John Conservative Highbridge & Burnham South
WOOLLCOMBE-ADAMS, Nigel Conservative Mendip South
YEOMANS, Derek Conservative Curry Rivel & Langport

(55 Members)

In addition to the interests declared by each Councillor listed on their profiles above, you can view the full list of appointments to internal positions, internal groups, Council Committees, joint bodies and outside bodies.

Co-opted Members of Committees

The Council is required / has the option under the relevant legislation to appoint co-opted members to committees of the Council. Co-opted members are not elected members of the Council and are usually appointed because they have a particular expertise or interest in the subject matter. Co-opted members are required under the Councilís Code of Conduct to declare as part of the Statutory Register any Disclosable Pecuniary Interests in the same way as elected members and have them published in the same way. The Council also requires co-opted members to register their Personal Interests within the Statutory Register but gives them the option not to have these published on the website.

Below is the list of co-opted members on Council Committees. You can view their individual Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and, where they have chosen to have them published on the website, their Personal Interests. All declarations are contained in the Statutory Register and are available for inspection by appointment by contacting Julia Jones (Senior Community Governance Officer) via Email or another member of the Community Governance Team via Telephone: 01823 357628 or via Email: .

Co-opted Member Committee
Vicky Chapman Standards Committee
David Boyland Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Kim Curry Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Dr Matthew Dolman Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Anthony Farnsworth Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Dr Ed Ford Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Trudi Grant Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Robin Horton Standards Committee
Janice Middleton Standards Committee
Caroline Moore Pensions Committee
Sarah Payne Pensions Committee
Sylvia Seal Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Mark Simmonds Pensions Committee
David Slack Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Gill Slocombe Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Vivienne Stock-Williams Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Dr Tim Ward Standards Committee
Keith Turner Somerset Health and Well-Being Board
Wesley Wooding Standards Committee
Julian Wooster Somerset Health and Well-Being Board